Saifur Rahman voted 2022 IEEE President-Elect

  • Post author:
  • Post category:News Items

Saifur Rahman, the Joseph R. Loring Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering and founding director of the Advanced Research Institute, was elected president of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE). Rahman, a 1978 Ph.D. graduate from the College of Engineering, is the first Virginia Tech faculty member to assume this position in the university’s 150-year history and the only resident of Virginia to do so in at least 50 years. An internationally known researcher in the areas of electrical power, renewable energy, and smart grid, Rahman will begin his tenure as president of the 400,000-member global organization on Jan. 1, 2023.